The Central Wasatch Commission Youth Council

The Central Wasatch Commission is an inter-governmental entity with jurisdictions in the Town of Alta, the Town of Brighton, Cottonwood Heights, Millcreek City, Park City, Salt Lake City, Sandy City, and Summit County, with the Uinta-Wasatch-Cache National Forest, Utah Transit Authority, and Metropolitan District of Salt Lake and Sandy as ex-officio members. Building on the work of Mountain Accord, the CWC seeks to engage the public, build consensus, and coordinate the actions in the Central Wasatch Mountains.

The Central Wasatch Commission Youth Council is an opportunity for young people to participate with the Central Wasatch Commission as it addresses transportation, economic, recreation, and environmental issues in the Central Wasatch Mountains. The Youth Council will serve as an educational forum for its members, and provide a platform for young people to engage directly with the Central Wasatch Commission on issues that affect them as residents of Utah and as users and stewards of the Central Wasatch.


Members will have the opportunity to:

  • Work within designated Youth Council committees;
  • Attend regular Youth Council meetings and events;
  • Educate themselves and others about the Central Wasatch Commission and its work;
  • Bring issues important to them to the Stakeholders Council and to the Board for consideration; and
  • Engage with the CWC’s Board of Commissioners and the CWC’s advisory Stakeholders Council


Youth Council Committees


Application requirements:

  • Must be between the ages of 16-30;
  • Have a passion for local government and the Central Wasatch Mountains; and
  • Be able to commit 5-10 hours a month to Youth Council work.

Applications are accepted on a rolling basis. Please apply here and reach out to for more information.

Read the Central Wasatch Commission Youth Council Rules and Procedures Here

Photo above is courtesy of Andrew Fowler