The Central Wasatch Commission


The Central Wasatch Commission is an interlocal governmental entity with jurisdictions in the Town of Alta, Cottonwood Heights, Millcreek City, Park City, Salt Lake City, Salt Lake County, Sandy City, Summit County, and the Utah Department of Transportation. The area of focus is between I-80 and the Salt Lake County line south of Little Cottonwood Canyon. Its mission is to implement Mountain Accord. Building on the work of Mountain Accord, the Commission seeks to engage the public, build consensus, and coordinate the actions in the Central Wasatch Mountains.

The CWC’s mission is to implement the actions outlined in the Accord and will adhere to the principles of public engagement, transparency and consensus building. The Accord is an unprecedented agreement to build a lasting plan to preserve the Central Wasatch. The Central Wasatch Commission is continuing to work on realizing the collaborative vision contained in The Accord.


  • Engage the public, collaborate with stakeholders;
  • Transportation solutions focused on transit, walking, biking;
  • Visitor amenities, trails, and canyon stewardship; and
  • Watershed protection


The CWC has authorities over the following:
The CWC does not have authorities over:
  • No authorities given up by partner entities
  • No regulatory authority
  • No authority over local land use/zoning
  • No authority to levy tax
  • No condemnation authority