Stakeholders Council


The Central Wasatch Commission Stakeholders Council is an advisory group to the Commission, and includes 35 members, all with varying interests in the canyons, connected by a deep appreciation for the Central Wasatch. The Stakeholders Council represents a diverse array of interests relating to the Central Wasatch Mountains, including community organizations, environmental groups, ski resorts, residents and property owners, and the general public.

The Stakeholders Council may gather information, conduct fact-finding, provide analysis, conduct feasibility studies, and otherwise collaborate with broader constituencies with interests in the Project Area in order to make suggestions, recommendations and proposals to the CWC Board and the Commission’s staff and consultants. Stakeholders Council members may assist the CWC by communicating regularly with residents, interested parties, associations, networks and associates about Commission actions, projects and priorities. The Stakeholders Council may provide expertise and resources to inform the Commission’s decision making.

Requirements for Stakeholders

  • There was an application process to select a diverse Stakeholders Council membership. As a condition of being appointed to the body, Stakeholders Council members agree to the following:
  • Support a consensus-based process for issues impacting the CWC’s area.
  • Share information.
  • Be collaborative and allow other stakeholder council members to express their opinion and viewpoint.

2019 Stakeholders Council Members

  1. Annalee Munsey – Assistant GM, Metropolitan Water District of Salt Lake and Sandy
  2. Barbara Cameron – Chair, Big Cottonwood Community Council Chair, Brighton Resident
  3. Bill Malone – President & CEO, Park City Chamber/Convention & Visitors Bureau
  4. Brian Hutchinson – Salt Lake City Resident
  5. Carl Fisher – Executive Director, Save Our Canyons
  6. Carolyn Wawra – Executive Director, Recycle Utah
  7. Dan Knopp – Owner, Silver Fork Lodge
  8. Dave Fields – President and GM, Snowbird Ski Resort
  9. Del Draper – President, Cecret Lake Cabin Owners Association
  10. Don Despain – General Manager, Big Cottonwood Canyon Improvement District
  11. Dr. Kelly Bricker – Director, Parks, Recreation & Tourism, University of Utah
  12. Ed Marshall – Log Haven Restaurant
  13. Greg Summerhays – President & CEO, Sandy Area Chamber of Commerce
  14. Jan Striefel – League of Utah Women Voters
  15. John Knoblock – Mt Olympus Community Council Member, Chair, Trails Utah,
  16. Kirk Nichols – President, USFS Evergreen HOA, Professor of Outdoor Recreation, University of Utah
  17. Kurt Hegmann – Mill D Cabin Owners Association Representative
  18. Matt Kirkegaard – Salt Lake City Resident
  19. Megan Nelson – External Affairs Associate, The Nature Conservancy
  20. Mike Maughan – President and GM, Alta Ski Area
  21. Michael Marker – Little Cottonwood Canyon Resident
  22. Michael Braun – District 2 Representative, Granite Community Council
  23. Nate Furman – Salt Lake Climbers Alliance 
  24. Nathan Rafferty – President & CEO, Ski Utah
  25. Patrick Shea – Salt Lake City Resident
  26. Paul Diegel – Salt Lake City Resident
  27. Randy Doyle – General Manager, Brighton Ski Resort
  28. Sarah Bennett – Executive Director, Trails Utah
  29. Stetson West – Utah Backcountry Hunters and Anglers
  30. Steve Issowits- Director of Resort Planning, Solitude Mountain Resort and Deer Valley
  31. Tom Diegel – Board Member, Wasatch Backcountry Alliance
  32. Troy Morgan – Brighton Resident
  33. Wayne Crawford – President, Cardiff Canyon Owners Association
  34. Will McCarvill – Chair, Utah Sierra Club Chapter

All Council members will serve four-year terms ending on June 30th; however, at the March meeting of the Stakeholders Council, half of the Council members will be assigned a two-year term by the Chair. Greg Summerhays and Dr. Kelly Bricker were selected as Council Chair and Vice Chair, respectively, and will serve two-year terms in their roles. There are not term limits for Council members.

Other documents:

Stakeholders FAQ
Requirements for the Stakeholders Council, as set out by the CWC Interlocal Agreement